Published On: Thu, Oct 26th, 2023

Lunar eclipse October 2023: What time is the October Blood moon partial eclipse?

Lunar eclipse October 2023: What time is the October Blood moon partial eclipse?
Lunar eclipse October 2023: What time is the October Blood moon partial eclipse?

Eclipses are a celestial spectacle, and they always come in pairs. Just a few weeks ago, the skies above the US showcased an annular “ring of fire” solar eclipse. Now, it’s time for the moon to take the stage.

On the evening of 28 October, skywatchers across the UK, Europe, Asia, and Africa can witness a partial lunar eclipse, where a segment of the moon adopts a reddish hue. However, in regions like North America, South America, and Australia, only the penumbral phase will be observable, casting a subtle shadow on the moon.

When to Watch the 28 October Lunar Eclipse?

The eclipse’s peak will occur at different times across the globe: 9.14pm in London, 10.14pm in Berlin, 11.14pm in Moscow, 1.44am in Mumbai, and 4.14am in Hong Kong. The penumbral phase starts roughly 2 hours before and concludes about 2 hours post the peak. For precise timings tailored to your location, consider using the Stellarium software.

Viewing Tips for the Partial Lunar Eclipse

Witnessing a lunar eclipse requires no specialized equipment. If you’re in a region where the eclipse is visible and the skies are clear, you’ll notice a section of the moon turning red. During this particular eclipse, a mere 12% of the moon will adopt this reddish tint at its peak. For a clearer view, binoculars or a small telescope can enhance the experience.

Understanding Lunar Eclipses

A lunar eclipse transpires when the moon enters Earth’s shadow, obstructing sunlight. This event always coincides with a full moon. However, due to the moon’s orbital tilt, not every full moon results in an eclipse.

What Triggers a Partial Lunar Eclipse?

A partial lunar eclipse arises when the moon, Earth, and sun aren’t perfectly aligned. This misalignment means only a section of the moon enters Earth’s shadow. Earth’s shadow comprises two parts: the darker inner zone called the umbra and the lighter outer zone, the penumbra. The moon’s reddish hue is visible only when it’s in the umbra.

The Reddish Glow of the Moon Explained

Unlike solar eclipses where the sun vanishes, the moon remains visible during a lunar eclipse. Earth’s atmosphere plays a role here. Even though the moon is in Earth’s shadow, some light refracts through Earth’s atmosphere. Only the longer, red wavelengths of sunlight manage to reach the moon, giving it its characteristic red or orange glow. This phenomenon is akin to the red sun we see during sunrise or sunset. Hence, lunar eclipses are often termed “blood moons.”

The Pairing of Eclipses

Eclipses occur when the moon’s orbit around Earth aligns with the sun and Earth, a configuration known as syzygy. Solar eclipses coincide with a new moon, while lunar ones with a full moon. Typically, these paired eclipses are spaced two weeks apart.

Topics:

Please follow and like us:

🤞 Don’t miss latest news!

Most Popular News